2034 Online
108872 Solutions
New Discussion

OpenVMS storage migration

Dilip7
Occasional Contributor

OpenVMS storage migration

Hello,

I am very new to openVMS cluster environment. 

i have a requirement of migrating old netapp storage box to new netapp storage box. in my environment there is 2 Node cluster running on v8.4 hardware. where system disk is from SAN (say DGA100).

we also have a internal disk(say DKA100) to boot the server if incase we need to scan new LUNs.

generally storage team provides new LUNs id once they switch the storage to new Netapp device.  but i am not sure how to boot servers from new DGA100 SAN disk which is configure in cluster invironment.

Do i need to shutdown both cluster nodes (primary and secondary) and scan SAN disk (DGA100) from primary node while secondary node is down. and when primary server is booted up then bring up the secondary?

will secondary node autometically join cluster with new SAN disk.?  How can i be sure the the wwid with the server is same wwid which storage team gave?

can someone please assist with process how can i smoothly migrate old storage to new storage box .

4 REPLIES 4
support_s
System Recommended

Query: OpenVMS storage migration

System recommended content:

1. HSG80 Attached Storage cannot be seen by OpenVMS

Please click on "Thumbs Up/Kudo" icon to give a "Kudo".

Thank you for being a HPE valuable community member.

Accept or Kudo

Vinky_99
Esteemed Contributor

Re: OpenVMS storage migration

@Dilip7 

Good day! 

I can help you with some general info. Migrating NetApp storage to a new storage box involves several steps, and you need to be careful to ensure a smooth transition. Here are general steps you might consider, but keep in mind that these steps may vary based on the specifics of your NetApp environment, so always refer to the official NetApp documentation and consult with your storage team.

>> Ensure you have a recent backup of your data.