MSA Storage
1758503 Members
2176 Online
108871 Solutions
New Discussion

MSA 2060 (iSCSI) Storage Space Question (Pool/Volumes)

SOLVED
Go to solution
FoHE1
Occasional Collector

MSA 2060 (iSCSI) Storage Space Question (Pool/Volumes)

Hi, 

I am new with MSA Storage and i have a question regarding the space available. 

We have a MSA2060 with the following Config: 

7 Disks (1 of it is a spare) each 1,92 TB 

Pool A:  7656.1 GB   (6 Disks Raid 6) 

Volume 1: 3479.9GB

Volume2: 3479.9GB

The Dashbaord shows us that we still have 2,6TB Available, but we are not able to expand the volumes by this amount, the max we can expand is ~ 600GB. Is this maybe connected to the Middle Threshold, which is set to 75% ?  Or why cant we expand the volumes by the full available space?

(We are not using any snapshots)

thank you in advance and sorry for the beginner question.

best regards

FoHe

7 REPLIES 7
support_s
System Recommended

Query: MSA 2060 (iSCSI) Storage Space Question (Pool/Volumes)

System recommended content:

1. HPE MSA 2060 Storage Array - Overview

2. HPE MSA 2060 Storage Array - Specifications

Please click on "Thumbs Up/Kudo" icon to give a "Kudo".

Thank you for being a HPE valuable community member.

Accept or Kudo

FoHE1
Occasional Collector

Re: Query: MSA 2060 (iSCSI) Storage Space Question (Pool/Volumes)

Thanks for these 2 documents, but i am not finding the answer to my question with the documents. 

ArunKKR
HPE Pro
Solution

Re: MSA 2060 (iSCSI) Storage Space Question (Pool/Volumes)

Hi,

While creating a Pool by default over commit  is enabled.

From SMU guide:

https://support.hpe.com/hpesc/public/docDisplay?docLocale=en_US&docId=a00128580en_us

Overcommitting is a virtual storage feature that allows a system administrator to overcommit physical storage resources. This
allows the host system to operate as though it has more storage available than is actually allocated to it. When physical